Forest XI to play at Lydney

Wednesday 6th July 2011 10:00 pm

Subscribe newsletter

Subscribe to our email and get updates right in your inbox.

A FOREST of Dean football XI will play Leicestershire-based Ellistown at Lydney Town FC this Saturday (2pm kick-off).

The Forest XI has been selected by ex-Broadwell player and manager Gary Hurcombe, who previously put together Forest and North Gloucestershire XIs to take on Cheltenham Town.

Cinderford's Peter Macklin will skipper the side.

Gary (pictured) said: "A lot of people always debate whether a team of Forest lads could hold their own in the Southern League. I think they could.

"Obviously it's not easy to pick a team just for one game, but if this side trained and played together every week they wouldn't be far away."

The match with East Midlands outfit Ellistown originally came about through Lydney Town.

For the past couple of seasons they have played pre-season matches against FC Dynamo, losing heavily by 9-2 and 6-0.

Many former Dynamo players now turn out for Ellistown, and they wanted another pre-season game with Lydney.

To make it more of a contest, Lydney suggested fielding a Forest XI – and went to Gary to help them do it.

Gary said: "Unfortunately, Broadwell are playing a game in Liverpool on the same day. Guy Jones is available for the Forest XI but the likes of Craig Lewis, Steve Belfitt and Craig Lewis are not.

"Craig Edwards was going to play in goal but had to drop out."

Cinderford's Craig Tait is in the line-up along with three Forest-based lads from the Herefordshire club Westfields – Jamie and Daryl Addis and Richard Kear.

Ellwood supply Kerry Hale and Byron Ranford.

Chris Addis was originally picked to play but had to withdraw because of injury. He has been replaced by Lydney's Steve Jones.

Lydney also supply Adam Price, Mark Lee, Sam Elliott and Ricky Elliott.

All proceeds from the match will go to Childline.

The Forest squad is: Dane Adams (Viney St Swithins), Alex Goode (Mitcheldean), Guy Jones (Broadwell), Mark Lee, Sam Elliott, Steve Jones (all Lydney Town), Byron Ranford, Kerry Hale (both Ellwood), Ricky Elliott, Adam Price (both Lydney Town), Jamie Addis, Daryl Addis, Richard Kear (all Westfields), Tom Creed (Lydbrook Athletic), Peter Macklin (captain), Craig Tait (both Cinderford Town).

More About: